The end is nigh

Back in May it was confirmed that my contract with my current employer would end on the 30th of September.  I wasn’t really surprised as we had three people doing the same job for the three different teams.  Now that we had become one team, two of us weren’t needed.  By this point my contract had already been extended three or four times.  So having a final date was comforting in a way.

Fast track to today and there are only 4 weeks of work left.  As happy as I am about this, it doesn’t really seem to have sunk in.  Don’t get me wrong, I know that I will be officially unemployed as of the 1st of October.  But it still doesn’t seem very real.  I have been with my current employer for almost three years.  There have been parts of it that I have enjoyed, I’d like to think that I have learnt something and I have meet some great people along the way too.

But from Monday the 3rd of October I can lie in bed while the OH gets ready to go to work and I can wave him off with his packed lunch and I can do … well I’m not entirely sure what I will do.  There are a lot of things I want to do around the house.  Clean out the wardrobe.  Spring clean the house (like properly clean it), I can work on my assignments (we are currently doing the level 5 Diploma in Project Management – although by this point we should be doing both level 5 and level 6 concurrently).  But otherwise I have no idea what I will do.  I’m thinking I might temp until the end of the year.  The OH’s contract doesn’t end till the end of Dec and the likelihood is we will move to a different city in the new year.  So permanent employment doesn’t seem worth it, unless i can get a three month contract somewhere.  But I also like the thought of working a week here and there and being able to do things that I want to do.

So basically in 4 weeks time I will be unemployed.  At what point will this sink in?  Will it be like when I left London and it didn’t really feel real until I had been back in New Zealand for a week?  Maybe I will have a complete meltdown the week before I finish work (trust me, this wont happen.  The OH wouldn’t let it happen for starters).  Its a weird feeling to be honest.  I’m looking forward to what those three months will bring but at the same time I am a little scared.  I think I’m more scared of the boredom than anything else.

Anyway, that’s it from me.  I’ve gone on long enough.

 

~ by adventuresofglittergirl on 2 September, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
