Birthdays and “un-houses”

After all, what are birthdays? Here today and gone tomorrow.

This post is being dedicated to my favourite token kiwi – Claire 😀

So I thought I should write a quick post about what has been going on; you know, with Christmas, turning 30 (!) and seeing “un-houses”.  These are all experiences worth sharing.

Actually Christmas isn’t really worth sharing.  I don’t know what it is about Christmas in London but it never feels like Christmas.  Maybe its the lack of hot weather, BBQ’s, sitting in the sun drinking, hot weather, BBQ’s, oh did I mention the hot weather?

Anyways, so February saw me turning 30.  As much as I wanted to treat it like a normal day, others wouldn’t let me.  I got into work to find the boys had attacked my desk with confetti, balloons, big 30 signs, you name it.  Photos will be uploaded here later.  The girls arranged a yummy chocolate cake and card and the boys arranged a card signed by the office and a bottle of JD woohoo!  The boys took me out for lunch, we went to the chinese buffet that Laurence and i go to and then we had a few drinks at work.  All in all it was a pretty good day.

Un-houses.  Non-houses.  Houses that are houses but aren’t really houses.  Whatever you want to call them, Claire took me on a bit of an excursion.  Well actually we were walking that way and she said to me “have you seen the un-houses (or whatever she calls them, I can’t remember and annoyingly she’s not on MSN to check)”  To be honest, I thought she had lost the plot, but apparently not.   One minute I was walking  down the street with Kensington Gardens to my right, next thing I know I’m standing in front of an un-house on Leinster Gardens.  If you were casually walking down the street and didn’t know about these un-houses, you would think they were normal every day houses.  But no.  Numbers 23 and 24 Leinster Gardens are just fake houses.  There is nothing behind the front façade and the reason for this is that there used to be steam trains run along the tracks below and behind these houses.  This open area was used as a fumes vent from these trains.  However, because of all the expensive houses and hotels in the area, they built up these “un-houses” instead of an unsightly gap in a row of buildings.  So the façade is identical to the houses next to them, except for the painted “windows” and the lack of door handle on the front door.  More information (and its honestly worth reading) can be found here!  This was a pretty cool find and if I hadn’t been out with Claire I probably wouldn’t have known about this.  One day I will go back and take some photos of my own.

That’s pretty much all that’s really happened so far.  I plan on using this blog a bit more often (haha how many times have you read that over the last 5 years?), but I plan on it being a bit more of a general blog rather than just blogging when I’ve been away or something.  Who knows, I might actually blog more often haha!

Look out for my next post:  The London List 🙂

~ by adventuresofglittergirl on 4 April, 2013.

One Response to “Birthdays and “un-houses””

  1. Fake Houses! Thanks for the dedication. Cx

Leave a Reply

 
