There was a crooked man …

who walked a crooked mile
He found a crooked sixpence upon a crooked stile
He bought a crooked cat, which caught a crooked mouse
And they all lived together in a little crooked house.

There is a reason for this poem.  Turns out im all crooked…although personally I prefer the term Wonky, but only because it sounds cooler than crooked!

So heres the story of Wonky Sarah.
Ive had problems with my hands for a while now, but it had gotten pretty bad.  Id lost a lot of strength in my hand and when typing the left side of my left hand burns.  Good times!  So I went to the doctor about it and he said that I had RSI in my hands and that work had to sort out treatment for it.  Well that was about 6 months ago.
Last Thursday I finally got an appointment with the company doctor in Harley Street who confirmed the same thing, but said I have tendonitis on the left side of my hand as well.  So he referred me to a physio to see if he can sort it.

Well that was an interesting experience. After going through what the problem was, he looked at me and said, most of these problems are actually a symptom of another problem further up the body.  So at this point I was thinking…OMG what the hell is this guy talking about…
Anyways he takes a look at my back and said my back is out of alignment (which I had been told by my doctor about 4 years ago) and he said there is so much tension in my middle back right up to my neck that this is probably the cause of the pain in my hands.  Yep, this was the point that I was trying to look for an escape route.  Im sitting there thinking, this guy is mad!  Theres nothing wrong with my back…well turned out there was!

He decided it would be a good idea to realign my back, shoulders, and neck.  He brings out this clicky thing which is spring loaded and he holds it against the bone and it pushes the bone back to where it should be.  Surprisingly it didnt actually hurt until he pushes on the bone to help move it…hes pushing my back so hard im starting to worry that im going to fall through the chair.  Thankfully I didnt!!  But my pelvis is pushed inwards which is putting pressure on my back.  So its all pretty messed up.

He didnt even touch my hands.  He did however hold my arm out and push in my shoulder which hurt right through to my fingers on my bad hand – apparently this was a good sign that the problem was stemming from my back!  Who would have known!?  Apparently this could be the cause of my headaches and migraines too *looks around unsure*

So by the time i left my back was so incredibly sore, but I noticed such a big difference that even my hands arent as sore as they usually are.  So I have another session tomorrow.

So that was the story of crooked/wonky Sarah.  Not very interesting, but there you have it.

Breaking News – Just In …
15 days until I head to Austria!!!

Lisa and I booked everything the other day so the plan is…
Fly from London to Munich on 26th Feb
Take the train from Munich to Salzburg on 27th Feb
Sound of Music tour on the 28th Feb
Take the train from Salzburg to Vienna on the 1st of Mar
Fly from Vienna to London on the 3rd of Mar

Im so excited.  Its going to be so cold though, but will be worth it!!!

On the 17th of Feb Im going with Michelle and co. to the Roald Dahl Muesum and then Lisa and I are going on a Ghost Bus Tour so its going to be a pretty full on day – but I think I mentioned this last time…but I’m too lazy to find out what I wrote lol.

Nothing else really to report at the moment.  It snowed yesterday.  Im well over the snow now.

Now I’m too busy shovelling yoghurt in my mouth to care about updating this.

See you next time 🙂

~ by adventuresofglittergirl on 11 February, 2010.

2 Responses to “There was a crooked man …”

  1. just discovered your blog through facebook 🙂
    Isn’t it amazing how when one thing goes wrong it causes a chain of problems! Hope your back and hands are feeling better soon.
    Your travels sound exciting, especially the ghost tour hehe

  2. Hi Jess

    Thanks for the comment, took me a few minutes to work out who you were lol!
    Ghost tour is tomorrow night…im so excited lol!

Leave a Reply

 
